We are proud to introduce the newest Fellows of the Society. These five SPE members are honored for their outstanding contributions in the field of plastics engineering, science or technology, or in the management of such activities. Candidates must be sponsored by an SPE Division or Special Interest Group and elected by the Fellows Election Committee on the basis of their professional record as well as written sponsorships from at least two SPE members. Only 319 members, including the new Fellows, have been awarded this prestigious title since it was introduced in 1984.


Fellows Election Process


This year’s Fellows, with their SPE Division and Section affiliations, are:

Dave Vipul - FellowDr. Vipul Davé joined Johnson & Johnson in 1996 and held several roles of increasing responsibility within the Medical Device and Consumer Sectors of the company.  He is currently a Director and Fellow in the Global OTC Technology Group at McNeil Consumer Healthcare Division, and is responsible for leading the development of novel oral pharmaceutical dosage forms and external innovation.  Vipul’s research has focused on the fundamental understanding of structure-property-processing relationships of polymers for health care applications.  Vipul is an inventor of over 27 granted US patents and 46 US patent applications, authored over 30 publications in journals and books, and presented over 70 papers at technical conferences.  Vipul received his B.S. in Textile Engineering from University of Baroda, an M.S. in Polymer Science from University of Massachusetts Lowell and a Ph.D. in Materials Engineering Science from Virginia Tech.  Vipul is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and a Board Member of SPE’s Medical Plastics Division.

Nominated by the Medical Plastics Division


Teresa Karjala - FellowDr. Teresa Karjala is a Principal Research Scientist at The Dow Chemical Company in the Packaging and Specialty Plastics Materials Science group in Freeport, Texas.  She obtained her B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Michigan Technological University (summa cum laude) and her Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from The University of Delaware.  She has over 25 years of experience leading research and development in a variety of areas including materials science, product development, structure/property relationships, polymer rheology, and polymer processing of polyethylenes and their blends.  Dr. Karjala has authored over 70 external research articles and presentations and is the inventor on 60 U.S. and 30 European granted patents.

Nominated by the Engineering Properties & Structure Division


John Rathman - FellowJohn Rathman is a Principal Blow Molding Specialist at the Plastics Technical Center of Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP located in Bartlesville, Oklahoma.  Over his forty-year career, he has worked in various technical areas of blow molding including development of automotive fuel tanks, use of hydrocarbon barriers techniques for fuel tanks, moving section molds for blow molding of irregular shaped parts, improvement of natural color of polyethylene via additives and development of high performance polyethylene resins.  He has five granted US patents and over 20 publications and conference presentations.  Mr. Rathman has been an active director for the SPE Blow Molding Division since 2003.

Nominated by the Blow Molding Division


Miguel Redriguez-Perez - FellowMiguel Ángel Rodríguez-Pérez is a Full Professor of the Department of Condensed Matter Physics of the University of Valladolid in Spain since 2010. He founded the Cellular Materials Laboratory (CellMat) of that University in 1999. This laboratory is mainly focused on the development of new cellular polymers and new production routes for these materials.  He has been involved in more than 75 research projects connected with the development of improved cellular polymers and has published more than 160 publications in international journals. He has been the supervisor of 24 Ph.D. students and has participated in more than 150 international conferences, giving plenary talks in more than 20 conferences. He is a member of the editorial committee of the journal “Cellular Polymers” and the “Journal of Cellular Plastics” and a member of the board of directors of the Thermoplastic Materials and Foams Division of the SPE. Currently his research is focused on cellular nanocomposites, micro and nanocellular materials and cellular bioplastics.

Nominated by the Building and Construction Special Interest Group