CONNECTIONS > Awards > Honored Service Member

Honored Service Member

SPE proudly introduces six new Honored Service Members who are being recognized for their contributions to the Society. According to SPE Bylaws, “To be elected an Honored Service Member, a candidate shall have demonstrated long-term, outstanding service to, and support of, the Society and its objectives; shall be sponsored, in writing, by the Board of Directors of at least one Section or Division.” Only 316 members, including these inductees, have been elected to this prestigious status since it was established in 1992.


This year’s Honored Service Members are:

Dr. Luyi Sun is a Castleman Associate Professor in Engineering Innovation in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, as well as the Director of the Polymer Program at the University of Connecticut. Dr. Sun’s current research focuses on the design and synthesis of nano-structured multifunctional materials for various applications. He has served various roles within SPE and participated in the organization of SPE’s International Polyolefins Conference for the past 10 years. Dr. Sun is also a dedicated educator. Many students trained in his lab and/or courses are employed within the polymer industry.

Mr. Uday Vaidya has a joint appointment with The University of Tennessee, Knoxville and the Oak Ridge National Lab. He is the UT/ORNL Governor's Chair in Advanced Composites Manufacturing. Vaidya serves as the Chief Technology Officer for IACMI. Prior to joining UT/ORNL, Mr. Vaidya served as the Department Chair for Materials Science & Engineering and the Center Director for the Composites Center at UAB. He has 30 years of experience in a broad range of composites for defense, transportation and industrial applications. Mr. Vaidya is the author of the book 'Composites for Automotive, Mass Transit and Truck' and has over 300 peer-reviewed publications.